Deconstructing Lupe Fiasco: Politically Correct or Just Plain Opinionated? PART 1:


ImageEver since we heard the kid from Chi town featured on Kanye West’s ‘Touch the Sky”, his ‘buzz-fuzz’ fast paced delivery with blazing flip-flop monosyllabilic lyrical chops, the kind that get you hitting the rewind button until your flat mate flats out just hates whatever & whoever it is your’e trying to decipher, especially if its not rap as degenerate as “Everyday I’m Hustling”. No offense to Mr. Burger King. So yeah! You get the point: the kid is different. I thought he was. I still think he is one of the most brilliant lyricists out there. Did I say brilliant? No! I think he’s a frigging genius.

He’s also carved a niche for himself by infusing his lyrics with not-so-subtle political undertones, which I must admit, has endeared him to many, including myself. Over a few years, he’s acquired a harem of critics for the same reason, the very reason I’m writing this post. But, Hey! Screw the critics right? Including me. LOL!

I know I always hop on topics long after the buzz is gone, but this has been on my mind for a while.Lets get down to it.

What’s the problem with a hip-hop icon taking a stand based on his personal values and what he thinks is right and sticking to his guns? So I guess I’m writing this for two reasons:

  1. “Obama is a terrorist”
  2. “Bitch Bad, Woman Good, Lady Better”

 

Obama is a terrorist

So you’re already smiling or laughing by now. Now I’m laughing too. If you think Obama is a terrorist, you’re right, if you think he isn’t, you’re probably right too, or I’m slightly demented with something potent mixed with tobacco.

My opinion? Anyone or group who thinks they have the right to impose their own ideals on any society by way of brute force can be labelled as such. Go ask the people in Afghanistan who they think the terrorists are. You might be surprised you also fall into the category.

Bottom line, leave Lupe Fiasco to his opinions. He is entitled to them the last time I checked. Got it?

PART 2: Bitch Bad, Woman Good, Lady Better

You’d have to give my lazy self a couple of days. See you in a bit.

3 thoughts on “Deconstructing Lupe Fiasco: Politically Correct or Just Plain Opinionated? PART 1:

    • Hahaha! Glad you think so too. I believe if someone stands for something of value, we should applaud and encourage them if the sponsoring thought is genuine and the message is positive Thanks for commenting Hassan.

Leave a Reply

